Enchanted Rock

I find myself asking why I keep returning to a giant granite rock that by and large does not change. The cast that has accompanied me on these many trips cycles through family, friends, sports teams and boy scouts. It’s not necessarily the people that change the experience, although each one has been its own. I think what keeps pulling me back is what I learn about myself every return.

Growth, especially in the self, is something we all desire but our progress is often difficult to grasp. We see ourselves in a mirror every day, a reflection that reveals little about change. But on the Enchanted Rock I see so much more. It is a method of measure, truer than mere everyday reflection. Every time I go back I am different: I am stronger, wiser, more daring.

 

IMG_9371

 

IMG_9377

 

IMG_9381

 

IMG_9384

 

IMG_9410

 

IMG_9416

 

IMG_9430

 

IMG_9475

 

Special thanks to Paty, Jackie, Lorenzo and Natalia.

