SA to SD via SW

June 20, Day 1.

First let’s talk about why I almost cried on the flight over.

I picked up the latest issue of runners world, as one does when flying, at the San Antonio airport before our flight. This month is a special issue on the the Boston Marathon bombings. Let me just start by saying this: I’ve never been to Boston and I’ve never had anything to do with the Boston Marathon. But running and marathons hold a special place in my heart, especially after running my first this past February in Austin. Long story short, at the end of that day (4.15.13), I cried my eyes out after I got home from class that night. I still can’t pinpoint it. It still gets me though. So as I began reading bits and pieces from the special issue, all of those raw emotions came back to me and I was literally on the verge of tears as we were taking off. I had to lean over and tell Emma to completely disregard me if I started crying for no apparent reason. So I put the magazine away for another time.

That’s how my day started.

Then we flew West, to San Diego. For those of you who are completely at a loss when it comes to California’s geography (like myself), San Diego is really close to the Mexican Border, like Tijuana close.

Upon landing we immediately set course for Coronado Island which is home to the infamous Hotel Del Coronado, where Marilyn Monroe made some movie called “Some Like It Hot.” We dined on the outdoor patio of the Sheerwater restaurant at the Del. Post-gorging, we took a stroll on the beach.

IMG_6311

IMG_6317

IMG_6324

IMG_6337

IMG_6346

IMG_6348

We then pitched camp at the hotel and made an ambitious half-plan for dinner in La Jolla that ended in Del Mar at Jake’s, where we witnessed the heartbreaking loss of our beloved Spurs.

IMG_6392

June 21, Day 2.

The San Diego Zoo encompasses 99 acres of the most un-urban territory within Balboa Park. It took us most of the day to make our way through most of the animals. Equally entertaining were the creatures on both sides of the glass.

IMG_6433

IMG_6437

IMG_6441

IMG_6475

IMG_6507

For dinner, we actually made it to La Jolla and stumbled upon a breathtaking rooftop bar, George’s Rooftop Terrace. Drinks and dessert gave way to a walk down to the point.

This is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been in my life.

IMG_6515

IMG_6535

IMG_6542

IMG_6559

IMG_6581

IMG_6603

IMG_6610

